Kaiba First Impressions

As with my Macross Frontier first impressions post I’ve already watched a few episodes of Kaiba, so I don’t know if my standpoint on this anime will be based solely on the first episode. So, forgive me if I add references from other episodes (so far I’m up to episode 4).

Kaiba

If you’ve seen the first episode you may find that its very vague. Vague in the sense that they plunge us into the thick of the series without much of any exposition. In fact the only real explanation we get in the first episode is the fact that people can swap bodies. This is because their memories are stored in chips which they plug into their heads.

Like I said earlier, I’ll try to make this as first-episode centric as possible but since the bulk of series (so far) is in the later episodes. Anyway, we’re introduced to Kaiba, our protagonist who wakes up without any memories of his own. The only thing left on him is a locket containing a picture of a girl. In later episodes the cast increases (though temporarily with the introduction of people like Vanilla and Chroniko).

Okay, on to the art. Now, I won’t say the art is bad; cause its not. However, it may turn off some people whose taste in anime is dependent on its art. The designs are very unique and animation is smooth at times. I feel the art serves its purpose though, especially since this show is more an alternative watch than not.

Photobucket

On to the theme. Though a bit hard to grasp at first, the world of ‘Kaiba’ is a very harsh world in which the society which we’re all very comfortable with is absent. In its place is a chaotic mess of a world. Since the anime is in the viewpoint of Kaiba, we see a very brutal side of the community. Themes such as segregation by class, replacement of memories, trans-spacial love, unprompted violence and sex are presented. The society in itself is portrayed in a very apocalyptic and dystopian way.

Musicwise, the soundtrack of Kaiba must have been tailor-made to strengthen the sentimental moments of the anime. Also, the opening and ending theme are done completely in english, done by artist Seira. Just watching through the opening and ending theme will be able to give you a rough impression of the story.

Now, after watching all the episodes up to now, even I have to admit that Kaiba is the most emotionally affecting series this season, though at first glance it seems very distant. Through the eyes of Kaiba we see tragic events unfold; most of them with startling resemblance to daily problems in the world and us like Kaiba; unable to do anything about it. Handled with subtlety and portrayed in an awfully brutal manner, it really managed to pull a few of my emotionally-hardened heartstrings.

So after all thats said, what do I think of Kaiba? Well, I think it has the potential to be the best series of the season. After all, since I consider anime like Kino No Tabi (Kino’s Travels) and Mushishi among the best and that I also love travel/philosophy anime, its no surprise that Kaiba is on my potential best anime list. My advice; watch it.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Kaiba First Impressions”

  1. Kitsune Says:

    Mushishi is one of my favorite series 🙂 I really like Kaiba. I think they have chosen this particular style on purpose to contrast the cute looking characters with horrible acts they commit. The general story and subplots elicit many emotions. I look forward to the next episodes 🙂

  2. rroknedaj Says:

    Mushishi is one of my personal favourites also! I agree with you on their choice of art, like you said it just makes the things people in Kaiba more horrible. Too bad its only 12 episodes long =(

  3. Soul Eater First Impressions « Anime Under The Sun Says:

    […] Anime Under The Sun My views on the anime I watch « Kaiba First Impressions […]

  4. artaud Says:

    Kaiba is a masterpiece…..Yuasa (Mindgame) is the Japanese Topor….

Leave a Reply

