Time for a little break~~

Hmm, I think it’s about time I wrote a filler post. After all, my life isn’t totally about anime (I’d say a large chunk of it is thought. xD). So I thought that I’d probably just list down a few related things, some stuff I’m working on now and the like.

First up, I’d like to say that my term break will be starting next week. Thats three weeks of holidays, of which is going to be quite a pain. Why a pain you ask? Well I’m going to have to sit for my Mid Semestral Exams right after the holidays, and If any of you who’s reading this post happens to be a Bio student, you’d probably guess that my three weeks are going to be a flurry of books and papers. Wow thats so exciting. =_+

Anyway, that doesn’t mean that I’ll be any less free that I am right now, so my blogging won’t be affected.

Okay, for all those of you who enjoy manga (especially good romance ones) this one is for you. I’m currently reading Kare Kano and I’m just totally awed by this manga. I’m not done with it yet but I feel that it just presents the emotions that Masami Tsuda, the author (affectionally dubbed ‘Tsuda’) wants us to feel so well. I’ll definitely review it once I’m done reading all 21 volumes, so I’ll leave this for another day.

The main point is; whats so great about romance manga? I for one think that romance manga beats romance themed anime any day, while for other genres anime easily takes the cake. I don’t know but when I’m reading great romance manga (one example would be fruits baskets) I can just take all the time I want to fully understand the significance of a particular scene. While I agree anime can do this rather well too; with the addition of great music and the like, nothing beats reading though a particular page and realizing just how much it can mean.

Although some exceptions do exist, for example the visual style incorporated by Bokura Ga Ita (another totally awesome show/novel) was just so touching at the very right moments because, I feel, they focused solely on the ability of the viewers to empathize with the characters ( the white backdrop, absence of music, face pans and so on). Yeap, manga is awesome.

Lastly, I should be going to a cosplay fest by ACG with some of my old buddies soon. Unless I’m wrong it’ll be held in Downtown East (Singapore, Changi for all those don’t know) and with their permission I may be covering their work. So look forward to that! And who knows? I might even be putting on the old cosplay mantle again. ^_^

Thats all for today, I hope I didn’t bore you all too much with my rants. So until next time!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

