Off Topic: Two ends of the spectrum – awesome music

So, todays post has nothing whatsoever to do with anime. Instead, before I say anything else, I suggest (if you’ve got slow youtube speeds) that you go press the play button on all the links below and let them buffer up before you view them.

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m a total musicaholic ( I made this up). I love listening to it, I love playing it, and its one of the things that really touch me. I started my music experience with the piano, way back in elementary school ( or sekolah rendah as we call it in Malaysia) at the age of what, 7? Although I stopped at grade 6 for some reasons I’ve never stopped loving music. I took up playing the guitar when I when I was in form 3 of highschool. After that, led on by my mentors, I became a member of my church’s band as a keyboardist for several years, before taking up my role I now play as the electric guitarist.

So shameless self promoting aside, what’s the point of this post? Well I was going through some youtube links I was referred to and realized something about my music preference; I don’t really have one. I’m pretty much interested in most genres of music; rock, pop, ballads, you name it. So, just take some time to relax (or pump yourselves up) and listen to a few of these songs, songs that have either made me go “WOW THIS IS TOTALLY AWESOME” or have made me quiet with total awe.

So first of all, we have I Will Be Here by Steven Curtis Chapman. Covered by youtube star Passion

Now, I’ve heard this song at a couple of  weddings I’ve attended, but I’ve never heard it sung like this before. I discoved this video not too long ago, but I could immediately recognize it as one of those internet gems you find oh so often. Very touching. <=)

Next up, a totally different beast all together. What we have here is excerpt from some of Micheal Angelo Batio’s guitar tutorials.

Close your mouths, stop drooling and listen up. For those who don’t know, I consider Micheal to be one of the best electric guitarists around, and probably the best shredder in the world, I mean COME ON, I’ve never seen anyone else pull off that switching-hand-guitar thing. A definite must watch for those who play the electric guitar.

Next up is Stars by Switchfoot. I think I’ve said this before but they’re my favourite band – ever.

Great sound, great vocals and it’s got some cool hidden meaning if you care to look too. 😉

Next up is another great song. This one is Jin Tian Ni Yao Jia Gei Wo (marry me today) by  David Tao & Jolin Tsai

First of all, yes I’m chinese, but I’m quite poor in my mother tongue (speaking it mostly). So, while I do listen to chinese music occasionaly, I usually don’t take notice unless it’s very good. Anyway, this song has a great sound to it, not to mention it’s a duet between David Tao and Jolin Tsai (chinese superstars mind you).

Last but not least, a timeless disney classic, Reflection by Lea Salonga from Mulan!

I thought this song was awesome the moment I heard it. I just love Lea Salonga’s voice and the flute accompaniment. I think this song is as humble as it is powerful. Definitely a classic for me.

So thats all for todays post. I hope you have had as much of a great time listening to it as I did. Feel free to post your thoughts and your special songs too. If you’d like you guys can go check out my music section for some of my other music centric posts. So, until next time God bless! >=D

Tags:

4 Responses to “Off Topic: Two ends of the spectrum – awesome music”

  1. EC Says:

    I love the SONG!!!!!!!!!!!! The first one that is.

    I kinda like the Welcome to Beijing 2008 song. Sung by various top artistes.

    Try listening to it?

  2. Ez Says:

    Just checked it out, so many artists! I only recognized a few, I think I saw Lee Hom an Tank. The rest I’m not so sure. XD

  3. Tetsuwan Birdy Decode - 4 « Anime Under The Sun Says:

    […] Anime Under The Sun My views on the anime I watch « Off Topic: Two ends of the spectrum – awesome music […]

  4. pcbon Says:

    ohh Michael Angelo is really good~
    hope i have fingers moving like his~

Leave a Reply

