Gurren Lagann Parallel Works Video 3

Woah, that was cool.

So, continuing Gainax’s revamp of their Gurren Lagann OST, we have Boing Vs. Boing (Yoko’s Theme) getting the AMV treatment this time, directed by animation director Hirokazu Kojima.

Now this particular AMV is probably the most stylish out of all we’ve seen so far. It should be seeing as they’re using Yoko’s upbeat jazz theme as their template. The first thing I noticed was that it had a feudal era japan theme, which of course means samurais, which of course makes the whole video very cool. The way they matched the beat of Boing Vs. Boing was in my opinion really well done, with the video frenzily panning all over the scenes. Not to mention the colours which being really dark and gritty reminded me of some old detective movie I can’t quite remember. Oh, lets not forget those kaleidoscopic eyes. I mean what was up with that cat? O_o

Seeing the director’s rendition of the Gurren Dan was quite a treat for the eyes. If anything, it made Yoko look sexier and gave Nia a sort ethereal quality. Simon looked like some samurai warlord, while Virl and Kamina looked as manic as ever. I’m also guessing that it was Lord Genome inside the samurai armour. Oh, he mecha battle at the end was cool. Pitting the Gurren Lagann against the Lazengan made for a great finale.

So until the next one gets released then! =D

Tags:

6 Responses to “Gurren Lagann Parallel Works Video 3”

  1. issa-sa Says:

    Wow, I kinda forgot I watched this one because it had less of an obvious ‘sory’ than the first two. The impact here comes more from the art I guess, definitely a treat for the eyes/ears.

  2. issa-sa Says:

    Eeks, sorry, I meant “story” -_-“

  3. Shin Says:

    I was half expecting the crew to be clad in mafia outfits and fedoras for this song ):

  4. rroknedaj Says:

    Issa
    But still that was seizure inducing coolness. XD

    Shin
    Now, that you mention it, Boing vs Boing does sound like something from an old gangster movie.

  5. emmyriceball Says:

    This was all kinds of awesome.

    I hope they do one with a school setting like in the drama cd.

  6. Webbmaster62 Says:

    The stories for all these are quite nice…even number 5 LOL.

Leave a comment